Ratings Summary
3.9
out of 5.0
91 Reviews
Ratings Snapshot
5
45
4
20
3
6
2
10
1
10
37%
of Reviewers
Recommend
Ann
San Francisco
Beware of markers
June 30, 2022
The cupcakes are wonderful, and it is a fun set however the decoration markers are not washable. Don't wash off clothes or face so my grandson is sad we had to put them up.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Janice
Undisclosed
It's a hit!
June 17, 2022
I got this for my granddaughter for her 2nd birthday. She loves it!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Heather
Undisclosed
Adorable
June 17, 2022
I wanted to love this more. My kiddos played for a while and then then it ended in the toy bin. The markers are good and work really well on the cupcakes. Just didn't keep their attention
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Linda
Undisclosed
Good product
January 31, 2022
Like how "easily" frosting comes off. Not thrilled with the markers - think they could be hard to "erase". Children may think it is actual frosting
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Amber
Undisclosed
Perfect gift for any girl or boy
December 30, 2021
My daughter loves it. Love the fact it's durable and reusable.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Celia
Undisclosed
I generally love M&D but this is terrible quality
December 6, 2021
Windows are painted on crooked and it looks cheap. So sad. Usually we love M&D!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Ash
Dayton, Ohio
Cupcake set kinda disappointed in this one
January 1, 2021
Honesty kinda disappointed in this set.My daughter's birthday was today, New Years Day, and I bought her 4 of the Melissa and Doug sets as well as the dress up Play set.I also just bought her 4 or 5 Melissa and Doug puzzles and sets for Christmas and I love every single one of them except this set.I feel like the markers not being washable was a HORRIBLE idea.I assumed they would be washable, probably my fault for assuming, and now multiple things in my house are stained and probably ruined including my carpet and my older daughters favorite hoodie and purse she just received for Christmas.After all this happened I tried switching them out for washable ones we had on hand but my daughter was too smart for that and wanted the "Icing Markers" as she calls them and the cried for hours for the markers back today.Also the paper cups were in my opinion not the best Idea either as kids ruin stuff like that within minutes.The candles are also tipping and not staying on the top very well.I don't know if they're maybe to heavy or if it's velcro issue.I HATE leaving a bad review as I had fallen in love with this brand ever since I discovered it and over half my daughter's toys now are Melissa and Doug.Just really disappointed in this one set and hoping maybe my feed back and input will help for future toys
Customer Images
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Angela
Oklahoma
I love all of the toys.
September 30, 2020
The only thing I would suggest is washable dry erase markers. The markers that come with it have ruined a dress and sofa cover. Totally my fault because I assumed they were washable. But my daughter loves the cupcakes as well as all the other Melissa and Doug toys she has.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Linda
Undisclosed
Verified Buyer
yes
September 29, 2020
play time....gift for granddaughter...her cousins all love this set
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Laura
Undisclosed
Verified Buyer
Cupcake lovers
September 24, 2020
Great quality. Grandkids love baking and decorating.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Maria
Undisclosed
Verified Buyer
Favorite toy
July 24, 2020
My daughter has autism and she's very picky with toys and she loves this one
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Candy
Undisclosed
Verified Buyer
Cupcake fun
June 5, 2020
The girls love this because it has dry erasers that look like icing that you can use over and over again
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Nikki
Undisclosed
Verified Buyer
Decorating Fun
May 15, 2020
Being able to decorate her own cupcakes instead of just pulling already made cupcakes IU of the box was great.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Mary
Undisclosed
A Hit
March 4, 2020
I bought this for our granddaughter who just turned 3. She loved it and right away started decorating the cupcakes. We love Melissa and Doug toys they are made so well, and hold up so well for years.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Beth
Undisclosed
Granddaughter LOVES THESE!
February 29, 2020
This little cupcake set is FABULOUS! Our granddaughter loves taking them apart and decorating them with the "frosting" pens. The little birthday candles on top are adorable. Great safe way to practice blowing out BD candles. Ÿ˜‚ Well made and easy to take apart and put back together. Mix n Match.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Kristen
Birmingham, Alabama
I wouldn't buy this product again
February 3, 2020
I love Melissa and Doug togs especially food! This one is an exemption! The tips don't fit snugly in the cupcakes, the markers don't write well on the cupcakes but do in everything else, the wrappers are paper and were crumpled in 5 minutes flat, and the Velcro is not as good quality as it is in their other products. I am highly disappointed with this one and cupcakes are her favorite dessert and I was so excited about this gift. :(
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Ida
Undisclosed
It's a fabulous toy!
December 31, 2019
Our niece loved it!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
HH
Michigan
I wouldn't buy again
December 29, 2019
While this is cute, it isn't really kid friendly. The icing markers don't wash off easily. The cupcake cups are paper which were crumbled after the first time playing and don't really fit the pan. One of the wooden cupcakes was cracked. Wouldn't recommend.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
linh
chantilly, Virginia
Verified Buyer
Daughter loves it
June 7, 2019
Great pretend cupcake set!
Dana
Oceanside
I love every toy but this one.
June 5, 2019
I own almost every single Melissa and Doug toy. I love them all except this one. The markers do not write well on the plastic tops of the frosted cupcakes. The markers also do not wash off skin or clothing easily. Thank goodness I have Tide! The Velcro does get worn out easily and the wooden paint looks old. Also the cupcake wrappers and tops don't really fit that tightly around the cupcakes. I've been looking for better pretend cupcakes with frosting. It has been disappointing.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Barbara
Undisclosed
Would absolutely buy this product as well as similar ones
March 27, 2019
Gave this to my grandchild absolutely loves all your products similar to this purchase.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
G D.
Pasadena, California
Huge disappointment
March 11, 2019
1. The markers don't draw well on the frosting tops. The ink is very faint on the frosting tops and dark on kids hands. 2. The marker ink is not washable/will stain. 3. The frosting tops are not interchangeable. Some of the tops are big, only fit bigger cupcakes and are too loose for the small cupcakes. Some tops are small and won't even go on the big cupcakes at all. 4. The paint scratches off the candles really easily. So they look warn out very quickly. 5. It's bad enough that the wrappers are papper, but they don't fit the cupcakes from the start. So it's not fun trying to use them even when they are brand new. 6. After about 2 weeks, the Velcro gets warn out. So the candles look droopy unless an adult puts them on very precisely.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Katy
Undisclosed
I predict a big hit!
November 29, 2018
These are both Christmas presents so it is hard to tell how they will be received, but I think they look terrific and am confident they will be a big hit.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
MJCmommy
Riverside, RI
Hello, cupcake!
October 16, 2018
I bought this for my son last year when he was just about 2 and he hasn't stopped playing with it since. I have hidden the markers for now, because I would prefer they not end up on the furniture, but he has a grand time with the cupcakes, frosting, and candles. The cupcakes are sturdy, of course, and the frosting is cute. The candles are brightly colored and stand upright. I first bought a set of these about 8 years ago for my niece and the three sisters have played with that set since that time. Those candles still stand up-right 8 years later!
Customer Images
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Mary
undisclosed
I would buy this for a friend
July 26, 2018
My daughter loves that she can decorate her cupcakes with the washable "icing". It really encourages imaginative play. She also imitates baking/cooking just like at home when Mum cooks, learning to be a big helper in the kitchen:)
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Christine
undisclosed
Great for all the future bakers out there!
July 12, 2018
Perfect for all the bakers out there!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Terry
undisclosed
I would buy it again and recommend it
April 5, 2018
My grandchildren live playing with this. They love to decorate the cupcakes and when they are ready to decorate more they are so easy to wipe clean.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Meghan
undisclosed
I would not buy this product again
March 7, 2018
Green icing was broken had to throw it away
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Eugenia
undisclosed
A great birthday present
February 19, 2018
I purchased this for my friend's 3 year old daughter as a birthday present and she loved it!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Katherine
undisclosed
just perfect
December 24, 2017
grand daughter loved it. not stop enjoyment
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Shari
undisclosed
I would definitely purchase this again.
December 11, 2017
Just perfect for my two year old granddaughter!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Kimbra
undisclosed
So cute!
November 28, 2017
Purchased this as a Christmas gift so haven't given it to the recipient yet, but I think it is adorable and will provide many hours of enjoyable, imaginative play!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Heather
undisclosed
I would definitely recommend this product
November 16, 2017
We absolutely love this cupcake set! We have four children who have used this and we just bought a new one for my nephew. Melissa & Doug has always been exceptional quality!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Rise
undisclosed
Really fun toy for young bakers
October 25, 2017
I bought this for my 3 year old grandaughter. She is enjoying it very much, but the icing marker comes off on her hands-if she does not pick the cupcakes up by the sides. Melissa and Doug is a great company-and yes, I would buy it again!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Sally
undisclosed
I think I would
September 24, 2017
I had the purchase mailed to someone, so I didn't actually see it, but I did think your service was excellent.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Frances
undisclosed
would by other items
September 23, 2017
My granddaughter played with one at a friends house. Decided she needed one.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Billie
undisclosed
Winner!
July 16, 2017
Borrowed a friend's before, but now ordered our own for arriving grand girls. They played so much with the borrowed set the last time they were here.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Christine
undisclosed
Get baking
March 26, 2017
Love the icing and the candles. The cupcake holders could be a little more sturdy.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Dissapointed
Philadelphia
Markers not washable
March 3, 2017
Becareful...these markers are not washable! They will not wash out of clothes! Do not buy
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Kristin
Spokane, WA
Cute enough to eat, but nearly as messy as a real cupcake
February 22, 2017
This is an adorable and clever toy! However, the markers come off easily onto hands and clothes, yet they don't wash off hands, clothes, or the wooden part of the cupcake. Washable markers would be a huge improvement! And a plastic or silicone cupcake liner would be a lot more durable for kids. Still, definitely worth the price, and a very entertaining gift!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Carolann
undisclosed
Love this product ❤
February 21, 2017
Love these products ... my granddaughter Olivia loves the colors and making cupcakes. Enjoys decorating her cupcakes with the markers. I would purchase this again in a heartbeat . Thank you Carolann
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Brenda
undisclosed
Great gift for a birthday
February 14, 2017
I am giving this to my niece who is going to be 3. I think she will love it. I sure did !
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Rita
undisclosed
Yes! Made well and not too pricey.
January 1, 2017
My granddaughter will have many hours of imaginative playtime with your wonderfully made toys!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Catherine
undisclosed
Great purchase! I would definitely recommend!!
December 31, 2016
This was a big Christmas winner! My 3 year old grand daughter paused opening presents to play with this for a long time. Had to encourage her to open more presents! She goes straight to this toy every time she comes over. Lots of creative fun!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Sharon
undisclosed
Huge hit and engaging.
December 29, 2016
Purchased as a gift for my niece. Her dad told me she spent the day making them all cupcakes.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Maureen
undisclosed
Yes, I would buy it again.
December 19, 2016
Love this product.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
little p.
South Dakota
Great Product - Poor Markers
December 26, 2014
We gave this to our 2 year old for Christmas. She loves it and so does our 4 year old boy and 6 year old girl. it is a great toy aside from the frosting markers. The markers stain their hands - it does not come clean in the sink or bath (takes a day). We had to toss the markers and buy our own washable dry erase markers. They are fun but don't look like frosting. If you buy this, buy your own markers and toss the fun ones before you kids see them.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
jessicamoore
KY
Markers are a bad idea!
December 26, 2013
I got this for my 3 year old who loves to pretend she is baking cakes and such. I let her play with the markers by herself not knowing that they would not wash off skin! Needless to say her hands were green for days!! Not happy with the markers and lack of warning on the product.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
Jess
Wisconsin
Awesome!
December 22, 2013
My three year old daughter received this as a gift from her Aunt. All three of my children ages 5, 3 and 19 Months have been playing with the cupcakes for HOURS. The only thing I have noticed is that their hands are green and blue from the markers. I am sure it will wash off eventually and it is a small price to pay for them being entertained for so long!
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.
fungma
portland, or
Fun but the markers aren't washable
August 15, 2013
Great for recreating birthdays but only the tops can be easily cleaned, the cupcakes can't be. Hard to get off hands and clothes. Since the markers are shaped like frosting you lose the charm if you substitue washable markers.
This product review was collected by the manufacturer.

Page 1 of 2
1