4.8
68 Reviews
5
87% (59)
4
10% (7)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
3% (2)
97% Recommend this product (66 of 68 responses)
Great Seat
By April
from Port Orchard, WA
on February 1, 2014
Item came quickly and in perfect shape. Pretty easy to install & works well.
Very sturdy, good quality
By Carrie
from Massillon, Ohio
on January 29, 2014
I absolutely love that my taller toddler can still use the harness with this seat. Seat is very soft and seems comfortable. Very durable and has a very appealing look.
Pros
  • Comfortable, high quality, durable, can go from harnessed seat to booster
Best Uses
  • Harnessing taller children
Cons
  • A bit difficult to install
great
By Kamila
from Brooklyn NY
on January 29, 2014
Lightening fast shipping, perfect product
Great car seat!
By Kristine
from Peoria, Illinois
on January 28, 2014
Super pleased with this purchase. Car seat is heavier than I thought it would be but I feel like my daughters safety is a priority with this car seat! Glad this car seat was recommended to me!
Pros
  • Safety
Cons
  • Heavy
Great Booster Seat
By RP
from New Haven, CT
on January 28, 2014
This is another great seat from Britax, my only complaint would be installation with the straps. For some reason it was difficult to tighten them. To solve the issue I reclined the seat, installed the booster, then put the seat back to the upright position. That worked fine. Could be a problem if your seats don't recline. All in all a good quality seat.
Good quality seat.
By Debbie
from United States
on January 26, 2014
So far this seat has performed well, easy to install with the LATCH system especially. It is comfortable for my son and fits him very well, and he enjoys having the 2 cup holders.
love Britax, love albeebaby!
By ncking
from Kansas City
on January 26, 2014
Smooth transaction, great product...nothing bad to report!
My big 3 year old LOVES this seat!
By Kristin
from Windermere, FL
on January 18, 2014
This seat is wonderful, cup holders (2), arm rests, comfy & padded back, perfect size (not too big), just very happy with this seat so far (it's been about 2 weeks).
What a great carseat
By Bob
from Myrtle Beach, SC
on January 17, 2014
This car seat is the best. It is extremely easy to install and my son loves it. Our first car seat was a Britax so we didn't hesitate for one second buying another one. I highly recommend this seat to anyone.
Pros
  • Ease of installation
  • Safety
  • Comfort
Cons
  • None so far
The best
By Lauren
from Bloomington , indiana
on January 14, 2014
This is the best car seat to booster. We always put a lot of research into our car seat purchases and this one is awesome-we got it for my five year old son and it doesn't expire for nine years so he can use this till hes eight AND his little sister will be able to max it out after him too! Great snug straps and tightens and fits well with 3 diff. Installation methods for best fit in diff cars. The last and only car seat you'll need from ages 2-8. I would recommend this to everyone!
Cozy & Safe Ride
By Emily
from Fort Collins, CO
on January 13, 2014
We have a tall 2 year old...as in the size of the average 4 year old and needed yet another new car seat. This one fits the bill! We love that it is still the harness system and it will convert to booster seat when he is ready. The cup holders are perfect for our little man who wants his drink and a pocket for his matchbox cars. This is our 3rd Britax car seat...so we love the piece of mind it brings us that he will be safe & secure. In reading the books/reviews/research, we are glad we scored on the 85 vs. the 90...as the lap belt sits in the right spot.
Love Britax!!!
By Amanda
from West Valley City, UT
on January 11, 2014
This is our third Britax seat and we love it just as much as the others! Awesome price on here.
Pros
  • Easy to install, easy to clean, easy to buckle, 2 cup holders
Cons
  • Light fabric where shoes will touch when child gets in seat
Great price and incredible seat!
By Rachel
from Texas
on January 10, 2014
I bought this to replace my Radian xtsl seat that was getting rather dingy and narrow. This seat is plush and comfortable for my tall 5 year old daughter. The price was also amazing for such a quality seat. I found this incredibly easy to use. When you unbox the seat the latch connectors are stored, but I found them rather easily and it wasn't at all a hassle to install as another review mentioned. What I am really impressed with is how secure I got the seat, without even an inch of wiggle room. Many seats have that inch of movement, but this install was solid! I totally disagree that the button to loosen the straps is difficult to find it is in a standard place. I always get familiar with a seat before I install it in my vehicle. This seat came with easy to follow instructions. We absolutely love it!
Pros
  • Great quality
  • Easy sturdy install
  • Very comfortable
  • Cup holders
Best Uses
  • Great seat who wants to keep there child in a 5 point harness longer.
Horrible!!
By Caroline
from Chicago, IL
on January 7, 2014
This car seat was such a disappointment! I have heard so many wonderful things about Britax, but this seat is a mess. First, it took me 20 min to find the latch hooks which were buried in the seat! Most car seats have them in an easy to locate spot in the base, or they are already visible once you open the new car seat box. I have two kids and have used several car seats with LATCH so this is pretty ridiculous! The most irritating thing is that the release button to loosen and tighten the harness is completely buried in the front base of the seat and impossible to locate. There is no way you would be able to find this without taking apart the bottom of the seat. This is going back and I will stick with Graco and Chicco seats as I have for years.
Cons
  • Difficult to locate LATCH hooks
  • Difficult to locate harness release
  • heavy
great seat for a great price
By KT
from NJ
on January 6, 2014
This is our second britax frontier 85. Exactly that I expected. We love this seat and it should last as long as our kids need to be in seats so it's a great value
Cons
  • Not regarding the seat but the box did arrive completely open but luckily the seat had clear plastic wrapping on it.
Doesn't recline
By Natalie
from Garriso, NY
on January 3, 2014
I did a lot of research to find a safe and comfortable car seat for my slender and petite, almost 4 year old daughter. I ended up ordering this one by mistake. I thought the Frontier 85 had all the features of the Frontier 90, but it does not. In fact, it's a very basic car seat and although very good quality, it's not like the Frontier 90 at all. We returned it after we realized that it didn't recline, the most important feature for our daughter who complains of nausea (motion-sickness) when she's sitting in a upright car seat. The recline helps settle her stomach apparently. We shipped it back to Albee Baby with no problem. The customer service was spectacular, suggesting that we request a return label to ship the car seat back to the store. Not only did we save on the restocking fee, but we also saved on gas and the hassle of driving into the city for this return. Thank you Albee Baby!
Great seat for growing five year old.
By Carol
from Vermont
on January 2, 2014
Your granddaughter was growing too tall for her old Britax car seat. We love the new one. It fits her perfectly now with plenty of room to grow, and once she reaches the proper age and size this will become a simple booster seat.
great price and quick delivery
By Quan
from houston
on January 1, 2014
Had a great experience. No issues what so ever and would definable recommend this site. My son loves this cat seat. He is 7 but is really skinny and under weight.I bought this because I wanted home to be secured.
Great price
By Jay
from Hoboken, nj
on December 21, 2013
This is our second Frontier ( although the first is an SICT). Thus far we are happy with it and always trust bRitax for car seats
Great Price, Great Seat
By Monira
from Athens, GA
on December 19, 2013
I love this combination booster car seat, the ONLY bad thing I can say is that the camel colored fabric near the feet stains fairly easily. I guess the good thing about that is that it forces you to wash it on a fairly normal basis!
Britaxt Frontier 85
By Sarah
from North Carolina
on December 18, 2013
My husband and I did not see this carseat in stores. We were skeptical if it would be what we were looking for as we have bought a smaller Hyundai Elantra and our current Britax Marathon was too bulky and high for the back seat. Our daughter would constantly put her feet on our headrest. This seat exceeded our expectations and this is the second one we purchased in the last 6 months!
Pros
  • Fits in back seat of small car
  • Britax Latch system
  • Comfortable
  • High weight 5 point harness
Cons
  • Tall
  • Heavy
Love this car seat
By Jeanne
from Anaheim, Ca
on December 18, 2013
We bought 3 of this seat for my 3 year old son. He loves the seat and enjoys being able to tug on strap to keep a snug fit. He couldn't pull on the slack on the blvd he used before. He loves keeping his favorite cars in the cup holders. Great fit and I'm glad I don't have to worry about buying any other car seat ever.
Great seat, great price!
By Deb
from Wisconsin
on December 18, 2013
THis is a great seat-so safe and easy to use! The price at Albee was outstanding compared to others and the shipping was fast! I would definitely look here again!
Fits Tall Child
By Mamay
from United States
on December 15, 2013
This car seat brand/model (Britax/Frontier 85) is really nice for a tall child! It fits them longer as they grow and are in elementary school-- their head is still supported as it should be; but it also fits them great when they are toddlers. Many of the other brands the head support is not there as they get taller. This model as many do, latches down deep into the hidden bars in your seat and gives the best security. It is easy to get child in and out of without the bulky sides, my grandson can easily get into it by himself ready for me to buckle him in. The drink holders are great for their water bottles. My grandson is really tall and this seat will fit him longer than many of the other brands that have shorter backs/head support. At the time I bought this one, Albee Baby had the best price and believe me I checked everywhere! I highly recommend!
Pros
  • Fits longer as child grows taller
  • No bulky sides but still rated for side impact
  • Nice cup holder
  • Good quality
  • Good appearance
  • Best Price I could find
Best Uses
  • Transporting child in vehicle, of course!
Cons
  • I can't think of anything bad about it.
Brixtax Frontier 85 booster is working well for our 3 year old
By Keith E.
from Los Angeles, CA
on December 14, 2013
As we are transitioning from the Brixtax Advocate car seat in which we have been happy with for the last 3 years, our almost 4year old boy is out growing his car seat. We wanted the same research and technology that made us feel safer with the Brixtax brand, so we bought the Frontier 85. It is less bulky than the car seat, but does not have the added cushions on the sides. Thankfully, with all the anchors and adjustments (we preferred having the harness rather than just the safety belt holding him in place) as he grows will keep him safe and comfortable. Looking at one review comparing with the 90, it said it was not aircraft compliant. You may want to confirm this- but it appeared that the Frontier 90 had additional metal rods.
Pros
  • Size range from 40-85 pounds, and the Brixtax adjustments (height, 3 buckle adjustments, anchors ease of locking & releasing) that we now understanding from our previous car seat experience. the weight of this unit seems pretty good.
Cons
  • too early to tell.
Good Decision
By Ann
from NC
on December 14, 2013
We needed a new car seat since my son (age 4.5) outgrew his Graco My Ride 65, due to his height at 50 lbs. I was considering a cheaper car seat, but went for this one since it was on sale. I'm glad that I did. It is more user friendly than Graco and Cosco brands I have bought before. I like the height can be adjusted without uninstalling the car seat. Also the Britax latch clips are easier with the release button. The harness straps have stiff cover to keep them from twisting as much.
Britax
By Grandma
from Boston
on December 14, 2013
Wonderful car seat at a great price and it was delivered quickly at no extra cost. Thank you Albees. My grandson loves his new car seat.
Great
By lala m.
from Houston, TX
on December 14, 2013
Love the seat. Bought 2 for my twins. They love it. I'm very satisfied. Even more satisfied with the price Albee provides. Purchasing this top of the line product puts my mind at ease.
Pros
  • Comfortable, my childs head dont bobble when they fall asleep.
Best Uses
  • Easy set up for someone like me
Cons
  • Hope not to find any.
Own two now.
By Greg
from Heathrow, Florida
on December 10, 2013
I'm buying my third one of these in 3 years. Best specs, great quality name, awesome seat. I feel my children are very safe in these seats and it gives me a good peace of mind they are riding in the finest seat available.
Pros
  • Additional weight and height limits.
Very happy!
By Allison
from Tampa, Florida
on November 30, 2013
I bought this seat for two of my kids after a crash and I love them! The kids say they are much better than their Graco seats. The price and shipping time was much better than expected. I will be buying from here again!
Best Uses
  • Forward facing children
Love it
By Joy
from Haverhill, MA
on November 26, 2013
This is the 2nd Britax that I bought for my 5 years old son. Love it.
Have 2 now.
By Jeff
from Western NY
on November 20, 2013
Use this for both cars for our 4 y.o. Its easy to get her in and out, perfect size, comfortable and easy to clean/remove from car. VERY adjustable for height and weight of your child as they get bigger. The only thing that would make it better is if the back came off to make it a low booster for when they are older. Thanks Britax for making high quality seats and boosters, it's all we ever buy.
FAA approved for flight
By Jonathan E.
from United States
on November 11, 2013
I got this seat for my older child 2 years ago and it works great. I picked this modle over the rest because it can flight and was not too expenaive. Not much more to say here, as of October 2013 it's the only Fronter that I could get that was FAA approved for airline travel. I give it 5 out of 5 because at least I could still get it (none of the new Fronter seats are flight approved)
Pros
  • cost
  • FAA approval
Cons
  • No LATCH system in my back seat, its not very easy to tighten down with only a belt.
Pleasantly Pleased
By Michelle
from louisiana
on October 31, 2013
Very happy with the quality for the price as extended 5pt harness use was important to me. Now we just need to see if it holds up.
Excellant Purchase
By Mother T.
from Maryland
on October 31, 2013
I am very happy with my recent purchase of the Britax Frontier 85 Combination Booster. We moved my three year old son out of his Britax Marathon 70 to this and he loves it! I am very happy with the construction of this car seat and wouldn't want my kids in any seat but a Britax. I also love the fact that they are made in the USA!!
great carseat
By traci
from washington
on October 25, 2013
Love the soft fabric! I was a bit worried that my son wouldn't like how straight the back is considering he has been in a carseat that reclines quite a bit. In the online pics it looks like a 90 degree angle with a straight back, but in the harness mode it is slightly reclined. My son loves it. At 4 years old 38 lbs and 42 inches this car seat will last him a long time. It fits great in our 98 blazer. We have had problems getting car seats to install correctly in it, but the frontier is great.
Great Seat
By lynn
from Phoenix, AZ
on October 20, 2013
This seat is great. I have a tall child and this is the seat he needed. It only sucks I can't get a good install in the middle so I had to put it behind the drivers seat and I do not like it there
Pros
  • tall shell
  • great fit
  • kid loves it
Cons
  • don't fit in the middle seat
good price and good carseat
By Maggie
from San Jose, CA
on October 19, 2013
I like it and the price was good
Britax is primo
By Diana
from Portland, ORegon
on October 18, 2013
We now have 3 Britax Frontier carseats. One 85, one 85sict, and one 90. We are grandparents and are in charge of carseats. I am sold on having kids in these seats when 4+ and over 40 pounds as have read so many highway safety recommendations against using just a booster. So our grandson has one Frontier in their mini-van, and one in their 12 passenger Sprinter, and we have one in our Escalade SUV. The best thing about them is; our 5 year old grandson loves them as he can see, sleep, and be comfortable on short and long trips to their second home in Central Oregon which is a 3 hour drive from Portland. We are not big spenders but this is a luxury in our eyes, so are willing to pay for this safety. Thanks to Albee they keep cost and shipping to reasonable rate and we are very happy to invest in their products.
Best Uses
  • Safety, safety, safety in cars in all situations.
Cons
  • None
great seat
By robin
from nashville
on October 17, 2013
We have been using our seat for 2 weeks. So far I have no complaints. My 4 year old loves the cup holders and arm rests. He looks comfortable.
AWESOME!!!
By PP
from tennessee
on October 9, 2013
our previous carseat was also a britax seat and we love it so i decided to get another. I read the reviews about this one and they were all good. Plus I know that britax is the Cadillac of carseat safety so I knew this one would be great as well. My daughter is ver petit but meets allThe height and weight requirements for booster but i felt she would be more Safe in one with the five point harness and extra seat latches.It was super easy to put together and install. And my daughter loves the cup holders for drinks and snacks.
Pros
  • Easy to install
  • Harness system
Best Uses
  • For a petite little girl
Cons
  • Needs a place for the kiddos to rest heads so it doesnt bobble when they sleep
satisfied but watch out if you are buying for EASILY adjustable shoulder height
By Christy
from Memphis
on October 9, 2013
My only complaint it the "Quick-adjust head restraint and no-rethread harness" that the description says easily adjusts the harness shoulder height and head restraint without disassembling the harness. This IS true, but I didn't realized I had to take seat out of vehicles to do it. It slides up and down but ONLY if you disconnect the seat from your car. You have to get your whole hand behind the seat and lift the lever out and up or down. I bought the seat thinking I could use it for my husband's truck and adjust it without disconnecting the seat when my son or daughter (different sizes) needed to use the seat. That can't be done without taking the seat out of the car. There are some other seats that adjust the should height from the front or top of the seat and I thought that was what I was getting. But, besides that, it's an excellent seat. Comfy, nice cup holders, good safety reviews, adjustable crotch strap, soft material, washable.
Pros
  • Comfy, nice cup holders, good safety reviews, adjustable crotch strap, soft material, washable. Don't have to rethread the shoulder harness to adjust.
Best Uses
  • great if you want your older or larger child to stay in a five point harness instead of going into a booster seat
Cons
  • Have to disconnect seat from vehicle to adjust the shoulder height. wish they would have made this possible from top or front of carseat like some other models.
Easy to buckle and unbuckle. Very comfy and padded
By Courtney
from Nashville, TN
on September 24, 2013
We bought this seat for our just turned five-year-old. We have been looking for several months for a "big kid" car seat that was both comfortable for her to sit in and also sleep in because we go on long trips and she sleeps in the car, but also one that she could unbuckle and buckle herself.We plan on keeping her strapped into the five-point harness for as long as possible and she is able to strap herself in and out of this one, which is a huge win. The seats are very padded as well. We believe Britax quality is superior so we knew we wanted that brand but the colors of this one online made me worried that I wouldn't like it. I remember thinking it looked very beige and dull and, frankly, I almost didn't order it because of that reason. But I took a gamble and I actually really like it. It looks really nice in my SUV. We are very happy with our purchase and will probably order the same seat for my husband's truck as well.
AWESOME Car seat
By Momof5gifts
from Atlanta
on September 20, 2013
This car seat is so nice. Its very sturdy and substantial and also very plush. It fits or very large 3 year old very well. He had outgrown the Britax Marathon but wasnt mature enough to stay in a booster without a 5 point harness. This seat fits so well and he can still nap in it. I highly recommend.
Best Uses
  • Large toddler
Cons
  • Expensive
Another great Britax
By Sara
from Atlanta, GA
on September 12, 2013
I bought this car seat for my three-year-old son. We have a Britax Marathon in one car (which we love) and needed a seat in our second vehicle. So far my son loves this seat. I am currently 9 months pregnant and had no trouble installing the seat by myself, in fact I find it easier to lift him in and out of this seat than the Marathon. So far, I have no complaints; it feels very secure and safe and my son is happy.
great
By FlyingMommy747
from Mill Creek, WA
on September 8, 2013
I had this seat in my other car, and looked high and low to get another one. Great seat at a great price. It came quickly. elsewhere is was at least $100 more.
Awesome product at an awesome price!
By Cyndy
from Hilliard ohio
on September 8, 2013
Arrived quickly! Perfect condition! Great price!
Happy NY Mommy
By Christine
from Long Island, NY
on September 7, 2013
I was hesitant to order this car seat as I had never ordered from Albee Baby before. The cost was almost $100 less than where I normally order my baby stuff from. After reading reviews on all websites I knew this was the car seat I wanted for my very small 4 year old (30 lbs). I was so happy with the product and love that it can be used with the seatbelt restraint once he got bigger as his old seat was needed for his younger brother now. The delivery was quick & in perfect condition. I will definitely be ordering from them again soon!
Pros
  • Versital for toddlers to use with the restraint included or can be removed to just use the belt
great amd comfortable seat
By Laura
from Texas
on August 31, 2013
I bought this to replace a well reviewed harnessed booster from another company, but my 5.5 year old couldn't buckle that harness by himself. We needed a new seat because his Britax Marathon was going to expire in a few months. This seat was recommended because the harness was much easier to use than the other seat's and it was much more padded and comfortable for my son as well. He loves his new seat, and I love how long it will last him. It was a bit trickier than some seats to install, but certainly not difficult and I did it on my own fairly quickly.
Good 'tweener car seat
By SoCalParent
from Southern California
on August 30, 2013
My 3-year-old was in a hand-me-down Marathon before it expired. Instead of getting another Marathon, I decided to get this since it has a larger height and weight capacity and should last a couple years longer.

Page 1 of 2
1